Discuss tricky levels, and show off your diabolical creations

Imaginary Color Charge

Post by 19683 »

I found the following list of gluon color charges:

1: ((r, anti b)+(b, anti r))/sqrt(2)

2: ((r, anti g)+(g, anti r))/sqrt(2)

3: ((b, anti g)+(g, anti b))/sqrt(2)

4: ((r, anti r)-(b, anti b))/sqrt(2)

5: (-i*((r, anti b)+(b, anti r)))/sqrt(2)

6: (-i*((r, anti g)+(g, anti r)))/sqrt(2)

7: (-i*((b, anti g)+(g, anti b)))/sqrt(2)

8: ((r, anti r)+(b, anti b)-2*(g, anti g)/sqrt(6)

5, 6, and 7 :Have imaginary terms! Gluons can be absorbed by quarks, so does that mean that quarks can :Have imaginary color charge as well?
Binomial Theorem: ((a+b)^n)= sum k=0->k=n((n!(a^(n-k))(b^k))/(k!(n-k)!))
testtubegames
Site Admin

Re: Imaginary Color Charge

Post by testtubegames »

That's a really neat question. It seems strange at first to see 'imaginary' charges, and I'll be the first to say I'm not an entire expert on the intricacies of gluons. It seems to me, though, that this is more or less mathematical bookkeeping. Without getting in to too much detail....

You see the same thing all over the place with quantum mechanics. A state (like spin, or the charge value in this case) has some 'phase' associated with it. That basically means a state can be multiplied by any complex number with a magnitude of 1. So you'll most commonly change the phase of a state by multiplying by -1, or with +-i. Since the phase isn't something you can directly observe, this truly is just a math-y use of imaginary numbers. You won't encounter an electron with some 'imaginary spin', as opposed to one with a 'real spin'. You'll always just measure a 'spin'.

It's really interesting how this convention for gluon colors was chosen, surely. But states 5, 6, and 7 are no more special than the others.

Post by 19683 »