How to include general relativity in the code?

What did you draw?
Post Reply
ahmedkq
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:59 am

How to include general relativity in the code?

Post by ahmedkq » Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:34 pm

When I start GR I have to load the code first then to switch on the GR option from setup. I am asking how to start directly with GR (and light speed value) such that it is already included in the code?

User avatar
testtubegames
Site Admin
Posts: 1083
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: How to include general relativity in the code?

Post by testtubegames » Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:39 pm

Good question - just write this for the settings in the code:

_settings(gravity: GR (c=31));

with c being whatever speed you'd like.

ahmedkq
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:59 am

Re: How to include general relativity in the code?

Post by ahmedkq » Sun Apr 08, 2018 2:11 am

Many Thanks for the useful answer :)

Coggan
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:06 am

Re: How to include general relativity in the code?

Post by Coggan » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:56 am

I may play around with general relativity too. Is speed value of 31 what you recommend to use or was that just an example?

User avatar
testtubegames
Site Admin
Posts: 1083
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: How to include general relativity in the code?

Post by testtubegames » Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:02 pm

That's just an example -- the default value is 30. Which seems to work well for the various masses and densities normally used in the sim. But it's interesting, too, to play around with it and see what happens. What if light were *really* slow, for instance.

(hmm, no velocity raptor emoji, that's quite an oversight)

Post Reply